top of page
  • Gris Icono de Instagram
  • Gris Facebook Icono
  • Gris Icono de YouTube
logo blanco prensa polo.png
  • Foto del escritorprensapolo

Patagones Claim Joe Barry Memorial Title in Dramatic Final

Final: With rain postponing the Joe Barry Memorial final on Sunday, Beverly Polo and Patagones returned to action at the International Polo Club Palm Beach to determine the champion on Isla Carroll West. Worth the wait, Patagones captured the victory in dramatic fashion, claiming the 11-10 overtime victory on a golden goal from Tomas Garcia del Rio. (VERSIÓN EN ESPAÑOL)

For his efforts, Garcia del Rio was named Most Valuable Player while Tunito, his 14-year-old Dark Bay Gelding claimed Best Playing Pony honors. Semifinals: Play continued in the Joe Barry Memorial at International Polo Club Palm Beach on Field 4, as Beverly Polo claimed their first win of the tournament with the 12-10 victory against CK Shack, while Patagones captured the 10-8 win over La Fe to leave all four teams with a 1-1 record. Final will be on Tuesday, January 18 at 1:00pm ET at U.S. Polo Assn. Field 1.

Opening day: Following a spectacular overtime Iglehart Cup victory for Beverly Polo over La Fe, the two teams met again in the opening of the Joe Barry Memorial at International Polo Club Palm Beach. A second thrilling contest ensued, as end-to-end play came to a captivating conclusion with La Fe’s Robi Bilbao guiding the ball between the posts at the end of regulation to take the game 12-11. The feature game of week on U.S. Polo Assn. Field 1 showcased Patagones with an identical line-up from the 2020 against newcomers CK Shack. Relying on the familiarity and experience of CK Shack’s father-son duo of Matias Magrini and Keko “Keko” Magrini, along with Tomas Willans’ two goals, led CK Shack to the efficient 13-9 victory.

Semifinal action in the Joe Barry Memorial continues on Wednesday, January 12 between CK Shack and Beverly Polo at 11:00am ET, followed by Patagones against La Fe at 3:00pm ET.

En suplementario, Patagones se queda con el Joe Barry Memorial

Finalizó otros de los importantes torneos del alto en la temporada de Palm Beach: el Joe Barry Memorial. En el IPC, fue la segunda competición del año en 18 goles, de la que participaron cuatro conjuntos: Beverly Polo, La Fe, CF Shack y Patagones.

Con la lluvia que pospuso la final del Joe Barry Memorial el domingo, Beverly Polo y Patagones volvieron a la acción para determinar el campeón en Isla Carroll West. Valió la pena la espera, Patagones finalmente se quedó con el título de manera agónica, con un 11-10 en tiempo extra con gol de Tomás García del Río. Por su esfuerzo, García del Río fue nombrado como MVP de la final y Tunito, su caballo de 14 años de edad, se quedó con el BPP.

Final pictures, by Alex Pacheco (IPC)

Semifinals pictures, by Alex Pacheco (IPC)

Gallery and videos. Sunday 9th. By ©GlobalPoloEntertainment / @agusfondapl

Fixture and results Sunday, January 9th

La Fe 12 vs. Beverly Polo 11

CK Shack 13 vs. Patagones 9

Semifinal action

Wednesday, January 12

CK Shack 10 vs Beverly Polo 12

Patagones 10 vs La Fe 8

Final on Tuesday January 18 at 3:00pm ET ot Isla Carroll West

Patagones 11 vs. Beverly Polo 10


Beverly Polo: Bill Baulhaus 0, Lucas D. Alberdi 6, Tolito F. Ocampo 7, Hilario Figueras 4. Total 17

La Fe: Louis Devaleix 0, Lucas Escobar 4, Fran Elizalde 9, Robi Bilbao 5. Total 18.

CF Shack: Dominic State 2, Keko Magrini 3, Kris Kampsen 6, Matías Magrini 7. Total 18.

Patagones: Joaquín Avendaño 3, Benjamín Avendaño 2, Santiago Wulff 5, Tomás G. del Río 8. Total 18 Info: IPC Website Photos and videos by ©GlobalPoloEntertainment / @agusfondapl /

Alex Pacheco IPC


bottom of page